16 May 2014

Department of Mechanical Engineering and Mathematical Sciences scoop awards at Brookes Union Annual Teaching Awards

Brookes Union Annual Teaching Awards logo

On the 2 May Brookes Union hosted the second annual teaching awards which were created by Brookes Union in partnership with the University. The project began as a PESE project (Programme to Enhance the Student Experience) and is now wholly owned by the Union. The awards are designed and managed by students from the ground up as a way for them to recognise, reward and celebrate the teaching and contribution that all staff have made to the student experience.

There were over two hundred nominations this year from which fifteen finalists were chosen, (two for each category plus an extra finalist for the category of Outstanding Contribution). The Faculty of Technology, Design and Environment (TDE) had 1 winner, 4 runner-up finalists and 10 shortlisted winners over the eight categories.

Congratulations to Dr Stewart Chidlow, Lecturer in Mathematics, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, who was a runner-up finalist for Most Inspirational Lecturer.

Students who nominated Dr Chidlow commented:
'The University is lucky, as are we, to have this man lecturing for them. I could not think of a more deserving man to receive this award'

This is a fantastic achievement by Dr Chidlow as a new member of the Department’s academic team.

For further information please visit the Brookes Union website